Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2008-06-20 - 3:10 p.m.

I just started a new book called Outlander. It looks really good.

I can't help but think of the scene in Children of the Corn where Malachi walks through the streets yelling "Outlander! We have your Woman Outlander!" So funny, it makes me chuckle every time I say outlander.

I also have bad habit of addressing my kids as Children of the Corn whenever they are being bad. They have no idea what that means since they have never seen the movie. For some reason it makes me feel better and makes me laugh. That is always a good thing when I have four children all yelling and fighting at the same time.

Sierra today said "oh my gosh!" Then right after that she said "freakin heck". We all laughed so hard. Maybe you have to be from Utah to find that as funny as we do.

Most Mormons use slang curse words since we don't usually swear. (most of the time anyway) We have to say something when what we really want to say is a four letter word.

Here are the most common.

Heck (only in Utah will you hear "oh my heck")
Gosh
Gad or Gadfrey (my Dad's Favorite)
Freak
Frick
Flip
Fetch
Fudge
Shoot
Crap (my most used)
Oh my holy crap (yes, I've said this many times)
Darn or darn-it
dang or dang-it
dagnabbit
H-E double hockey sticks ( this one was used a lot more when I was little, you don't hear this one as much anymore)

There ya go, you can easily guess what slang swear matches the actual swear word.

Have fun trying out an authentic Mormon/Utahn swear word on your friends and family.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">