Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2007-05-23 - 4:29 p.m.

You know when you feel down but you are not sure why and then you figure it out and big light bulb appears over your head? Ya, that just happened to me.

I thought I was just upset that Jackson got screwed out of going to his one and only field trip.

He was supposed to go to this thing called "space camp."
From what I hear you could only go if you had enough reward points, I wouldn't really know because I never heard about it or what the points entailed.

A few weeks ago Jackson came in from school beaming that he got to go and all he needed to do is complete two hours of community service. There was no guidelines or anything sent home so I just let him worry about it. He went off track and talked a little about it in the three weeks that followed.

He did his two hours and returned to school on Monday. He returned the paper giving him permission to go and then the next day he came home so upset because he misunderstood that he needed four hours and not two. He asked if he could do the extra two hours on Monday night and still go on Tuesday. The Teacher said "no". I felt so bad for him. I've never seen him so disappointed. It's like he got kicked in the balls for trying so hard. He got squat.

There were a couple of kids that didn't get to go but most of the class did. I hurt so bad for him, I was prepared to call and plead to his Teacher in his behalf but he didn't want me to. Scott said it would be a good lesson for him, I think it is a good lesson but too hard of one for a little guy like him. So I've been feeling bad ever since even though he seems to have recovered.

I then realized I think I'm STILL upset about it because Scott has been gone since early Monday. He just sent me a text that he would be home tonight and the tension I've carried has since eased a little. I can handle a little sad if I know why and can do something about it. I couldn't do anything for Jackson, but just the thought that Scott is coming home helps me so much.

He stayed home from school yesterday because he would have had to go to some other class and do who knows what while everyone was traipsing off to the wonderful space camp. I was tempted to write him an excuse note that read...

Dear Mrs. R,
Please excuse Jackson from school yesterday because he was devastated at being excluded from the only field trip the 6th grade was taking this year, because he misunderstood the requirements and I didn't have any information to help him do it right. Thank you so much for teaching my son a lesson about how to handle disappointment. Hopefully he will be a better person for it.

Thanks,
Jackson's Mom

Then I realized that she doesn't get paid that much and I didn't want her taking out my anger on Jackson. Soooo, I'm venting here. Thanks. If Jackson had wanted me to call I so would have. I just hope that this does make him stronger and help him to be more careful about assignments. Who knows.

Character isn't built on sugar plums and lollipops..

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">