Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2007-02-22 - 4:22 p.m.

Disneyland was just the shot of summer we all needed to get through the rest of the frigid cold winter.

There was just one long bump in the road. My Mother came and expected to be pushed around in a wheelchair for four days. The first day wasn't so bad, I pushed her most of the time, but by the end of the day I felt like I had been pushing a 250 pound woman uphill all day....oh wait...I was.

Fortunately my Mom brought her sister and her two children so we had spare slaves to help push. Downhill wasn't so bad. Jackson kept teasing her about getting a motorized wheelchair. The next day I told her to call down to the desk and have them reserve them one for her. We went to breakfast since she and the others were not ready. Later we met up with them and here she comes in a regular wheelchair. My Aunt passed her onto me and off they went to play. I know she is my Mom and it's my responsibility to take care of her but she didn't even say thanks. She said that a motorized chair would cost $40.00 a day and she didn't think it was worth it. Huh, of course she wouldn't, she isn't the one stuck pushing her. Jackson kept teasing her asking her why she didn't get a motorized wheelchair, and couldn't I give her the money so she could get one. She felt bad but she thought it was because we were all complaning, she didn't realize Jackson just want to ride on it. He asked a total stranger at the tiki room who was in one if it was "fun" to ride on it. The poor man was so irritated by the question. He mumbled something and just ignored him.

In case you think I jest about the wheelchair......

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I may be acting like a spoiled brat whining about how I have to do this for my Mom. I guess it just bugged me how she expected me to do it and didn't even ask if I minded or thanked me for doing it. For four days she had us waiting on her like the Queen. She gave a "tip" to Ashley when she went and got her some food.

Oh wait I forgot to tell you.....My Mom can walk. She had knee surgery about 20 years ago and she never exercises so when she has to walk further than out to the car then she thinks she needs a wheelchair. She neededs to get out and walk and get some exercise. Scott's parents went. They are 71 and walked all over the place. They complained a little about their feet but we were all doing that.

I do love her.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Her expectations sometimes get the best of me. She just expects everyone to wait on her. My Dad makes all the food and brings it to her, she never gets up to get anyone else anything. She says she is thirsty and looks at you like you should be doing something about it.

Friday night my Mom had had enough teasing so she made a big fuss and went to her room, saying she didn't feel like we wanted her around. I'm thinking it was guilt at having us all push her around. So, I brought her food and snacks and hugged her and assured her we all loved her and wanted her with us..... By the next day she was fine. I bought her a chocolate covered coconut macaroon to eat poolside and I guess that helped. Chocolate heals all hurt feelings.


I guess my Dad had a great vacation while she was with us. Ha. He said when we got home that we just wore poor Mom out. I can't imagine how.

I would never say these things to anyone, this is after all my only place to rant and vent how I feel...and I do exaggerate a little. I need to honor and all that. I know, and I'm sure I'll be doing a lot more taking care of in the future... by then I need to remember how easy it was to push her around. Scott's Dad was there and he chastised me a bit. Grrr. He can totally get under my skin sometimes. Of course he didn't offer to help push her at all so I don't think he had any right to tsk, tsk me.

Our hotel room was beautiful, we had bunk beds for a change and it worked out perfect.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The weather was perfect. It was so nice on Saturday, we even got to lounge by the pool. We fed ducks by hand and I think "It's a small world" was Sierra's favorite ride again, thank goodness it was open, I had heard it was closed.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

We ate at the Rainforest Cafe and Sierra loved looking at the fish.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

It was definitely a fun trip and the kids loved the plane ride, it was their first. It was on Jet Blue and they were great. We didn't have any problems. I feel bad for all the people who did. I would totally fly with them again. Too fun. Okay, now I feel all....evil and stuff. Sigh.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">