Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2006-09-11 - 10:52 a.m.

I've listened to my Mother talk to others about what she was doing when JFK was assassinated. That was the big tragedy in her day. For now, for me it's the WTC.

Five years ago I was getting Ashley and Jackson ready for school. I was watching the news report of a plane that had hit the World Trade Center. Twenty minutes later I saw the second plane hit. Everything changed. At first I wondered how a plane could hit the WTC, then after the second plane I wondered who would do such a thing.

The kids got on the bus at 8:30, all the mothers were standing at the bus stop wondering if we should even send the children to school. What was going to happen next.

I'll never forget that day. I'll never forget as long as I live how I felt watching the news reports of people jumping out the windows and falling to their death. I'll never forget the many Men and Women that died trying to save them.

Greater love hath no man than this, than a man lay down his life for his friends.

I wonder if that scripture gives any comfort to those families who lost a loved one. I wonder if anything gave them much comfort at the time.

I hope that time has healed some of the pain, and that they are happy in their lives now. Watching the tears flow this morning at the memorial makes me wonder if this country will ever heal this horrible tragedy.


I need more chocolate.....the triple chocolate cake I made yesterday didn't help enough. It's a good thing I don't drink.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">