Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2005-03-29 - 3:28 p.m.

Easter Sunday was wonderful. The kids had a great time finding all the eggs the Big Bunny brought to them.

There was some general pissing and moaning about going to my Parents home for dinner and an egg hunt, but in the end we all were able to get ready and go with happy faces on.

Dinner was yummy. I made some cheesy potatoes and the most delicious moist carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. I'm not a big carrot cake fan but this was truly incredible. My Mom cooked a big ham and potatoes and my Aunt brought a "frog eye" salad. Yum. Of course there were icky veggies. My Dad played a trick on me. I love broccoli but I hate asparagas so I went to drain the big pot of perfectly cooked broccoli when I smelled the disgusting smell of cooked asparagas. I dumped the pot into a bowl and the whole bottom part was asparagas. The yummy broccoli was ruined. waa. Oh well, I just had extra ham and potatoes. That will teach him.

I brought a movie for everyone to watch after dinner. Scott saw "Oh Brother Where Art Thou" a while ago and kept telling me I had to see it. We rented it and I loved it so much I went and bought the movie and the soundtrack. My 80 year old grandmother was there and I thought she would enjoy it. Unfortunately she couldn't follow the jokes and she didn't like the music. She got so annoyed when everyone was laughing so hard and she didn't know what was going on. She then decided she was going to try and make it miserable for everyone else so she kept yelling "boo" and putting her thumbs down to let us all know she didn't like the movie. We just kind of ignored her and had fun watching it anyway.

...note to self.... when you are old and can't understand what is going on just smile and act like you are having the time of your life. Everyone will love you more and remember you as a good natured and fun Grandma instead of a mean crotchety old woman who wants all the attention focused on her.

Anyway....I think I need a book with all my reminders of how not to be when I get older or I might forget and turn into the very elders I make fun of at every family function.

It makes for good bonding with the cousins though. Church was wonderful as usual. What a great day to remember who and why we are here.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">