Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2009-04-06 - 10:40 a.m.

What is the best way to get over hurt feelings when you have to see the person that did the offending a couple times a week?

I can usually brush off stupid comments about myself and it's very easy for me to "get over it" when I don't see the person often.

We lived across the street from an entire family of self-righteous superiority complex idiots. For nine years we endured comments on how we were bad parents because we let our kids watch pg-13 movies. Then there were complaints about how our son is a menace and he is corrupting and teasing their son. Once the Dad came and let us know that in grade 3 (I think) my son showed his son a catalog with women in underwear at the school library. I'm thinking.....and????

One time they thought they were going the extra mile and invited our son to their son's birthday party only to march him back to our house saying he was teasing and causing trouble.

We belong to the same church and yet their kids were not allowed to play with our kids because we are "evil". I try so hard to never judge anyone and to accept people no matter what, so when I get judged it hurts very deeply.

They were a big part of why we moved..oh and the polygamist family that moved in next door. I wouldn't have cared except there were about fifty people living in a 3 bedroom house with about 20 cars parked everywhere including the front of our house. I wasn't judging them, I was just irritated by all the cars. :) So we moved.
This would have been the end, I could have just pushed their intolerant and mean attitudes toward us to the back of my mind but nooooo....

She found out my daughters were taking Irish dance and put her twin daughters in the same class. To make matters even worse she decided to join my class! It's been a few years now but lately I can't seem to ignore her attitude.
I have to see her a couple times a week and her superiority has spilled all over into my class. She thinks she dances better than everyone else. She constantly corrects everyone else. It's driving me insane.

Last week we started a new special dance and the special instructor selected her to be the leader of our group. I think the top of my head almost exploded. I didn't want to be leader, I hate being the center of attention. I just took one look at her self satisfied smile and saw a the monster grow.

I can see why she was picked, she makes every effort to stand out and be noticed. I just know that with this new development she will be even worse than ever before in her condescending attitude.

So I ask again...how do I get over long past hurt feelings enough to function in her presence?

There is one thing that does help me. In Irish dance you have to hold your arms perfectly straight down at your sides with your hands in a fist. She can't seem to get this down. It's a small thing and yet it gives me a tiny spark of happiness at her obvious failure.

Ok, maybe I am evil and I'm going to hell.

The good news is if she is as perfect and righteous as she thinks she is we won't be living across the street from each other when we die. HAHA!!!

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">