Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2009-03-19 - 8:41 a.m.

Remember when I talked about my best friend from high school and college? I thought she hated me because she didn't respond to any of my messages. I ended up sending her an e-mail in a last ditch effort. I let her know I was sorry if I had done anything to her and that I hoped she was happy and since we lived in the same 5 mile radius I hoped I would run into her someday.

Well....

She responded back and said she was sorry but she doesn't understand how facebook works and she isn't very computer literate. She also said she didn't have any bad memories of our years together and would love to see me again.

I was so relieved. I was just so worried that I was a jerk to her and she hated me that I was having nightmares and stress over it. ( I drank a lot in college and I think I lost a lot of brain cells along with a ton of memories.)

We had brunch together last Sunday and it was fantastic. It felt like the years just melted away and we were best friends again. Funny thing is our lives went in complete opposite directions. It's like we were traveling on the same path and then I went one way and she went the other.

I've been happily married for almost 20 years, she stayed married for only one year, and hasn't ever remarried. I have four kids, she doesn't have any. I have continued in the faith we both started in and she has abandoned it for no faith. (not judging at all, just making an observation) She asked if I still went to church and I said yes, but it's not the only thing in my life and would never judge anyone for any lifestyle they live. I learned a long time ago that people are good and it doesn't matter what they believe or how they live. I still dance and she still does sports. It was like that before, I was on the dance team she was on the gymnastics team.

We hugged and promised to do it again. I promised I would go golfing with her after I took a few lessons.

It's so funny how many things change and yet some things never do. We are polar opposites but I'm still drawn to her as a lifelong friend.

It was a good day.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">