Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2008-05-07 - 12:12 p.m.

I think the whole "student of the month club" is just a big pile of crap.

All it does it reward the quiet mousy kids who fit into a little box. In the meantime, all the other kids who actually have a personality are made to feel like they are worthless because they never win that stupid award.

I think it's so ruthless and mean. I know that they try and make it into this big incentive to conform to what they want them to be.

My children for example will never ever, ever get student of the month because they love to socialize. They love to laugh and joke around. They like to make other people laugh. They work hard in school but they are, what's the word?....alive!

One girl that is in our carpool was awarded this stupid award today and I can see why. She never talks, this is her first year in public school, she gets perfect grades and never speaks out of turn or takes her eyes off the teacher. Yes, she is a perfect child. She also has zero personality.

So that's the kind of kids they reward with student of the month.

If any of my kids ever get that reward I will have to make sure they aren't being drugged into submission by some unknown force.

Why do they expect all kids to be exactly the same? Why do they expect them to learn and behave in one way and any other way is the wrong way? If they show any kind of opposition then they are deemed troublemakers.

In grade school every one of my kids' teachers have complained they talk too much and don't listen.
Next time I hear that I'm going to tell the teacher they are listening...to the voices in their head!!! Ha!! Ok, maybe I won't.

I know they don't get paid near enough for what they do but I just wish they would try and understand and appreciate the difference in each child and not show favoritism to the kids who are too shy, more advance, or the ones that luckily fit into the size box they have made for the entire class.

Let's hear it for all the square kids and adults that don't fit into the round boxes in the world! Woo!!!

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">