Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2008-04-22 - 4:45 p.m.

Yuck, everyone is sick. Sierra woke up with a stuffy nose and was all kinds of pissed off because of it. I gave her some motrin and she felt a lot better. Ash is sick and stayed home for the first part of the day, Jax came home from school and said "I'm way sick". I said Yep, sorry dude we are all sick.

Nothing takes the wind out of your sympathy sails like three sick kids.

I'm sick too, but I'm really sick of the whole FundaMENTAList sect. Notice I didn't say "Mormon sect". I'm really sick of the media calling them Mormons. They are not. I'm telling you right now they are not the same church. I'm Mormon and I am nothing like them. Nothing....nothing...nothing I tell ya!


I do feel bad for them but I know that if they are taken away from that world there will be hundreds of girls that will be able to lead a normal life. I know that normal for them isn't the same as normal for the rest of the world but there is really something wicked about pressuring and scaring a child into "marrying" a man who is old enough to be a father or grandfather. It's wrong.

I know they think they are only doing what they believe is right. They teach them from childhood that it's they only way and if they don't or if they leave they will go to hell.

They tell the media they are happy and want to be there but really what girl under 18 wants to be married or even have sex with a icky old man? It makes me want to hurl.

I do feel sorry for them all. They are a product of their parents and grandparents and great-grandparents.

I think I feel so strongly because it's so close to me. I have friends whose families have been torn up and ruined by polygamy. I've seen what it can do, how it destroys. They are all victims, even the men. Without this raid it would only keep going on, just like the cycle of abuse. It's the same thing.

I wish they would just listen to their hearts and at the very least let all women over 18 decide who and when they want to marry. It would still be a sad life to lead but they would be old enough to decide for themselves if that's what they want.

I'm not being judgmental or self righteous, I know they are real people. I've seen them in person shopping at the same grocery stores that I do. I can't imagine the sadness they feel at having their children taken. It's a sad thing, but the abuse is real. It's happened. There are horror stories of the abuse and poverty and starvation of children that will curl your toes and make you hug your own children tighter. It's all true. If this raid saves even one child then...well...

what is one childs life and well being worth?

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">