Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2007-12-04 - 3:46 p.m.

Phew what a day. Today was the day for Sierra to get her teeth fixed. Everything went great, she is totally fine now.

This morning we went to her dentist's office. I held her in my lap while the anesthesiologist gave her a shot in her arm. She cried then settled for a minute

They told me she would start to get sleepy. About 45 seconds later she looked at me with this really weird look on her face then let out the most blood curdling scream I have ever heard. She looked terrified. I held her to my chest while she screamed. I think I looked panicked because the nurses and receptionist kept telling me it was totally normal, I wish they would have told me she may scream right before she goes under.

All of a sudden she stopped screaming. The docs came in and looked at her eyes. They said "yep! She's ready, lights are on but nobody is home."
I looked at her face and it totally freaked me out. She had her eyes open but she was out. He took her from me and I started to cry. I never want to see her face like that again.

45 minutes later he came back and said she did great, they fixed six teeth and put sealants on the molars. About 20 minutes after that they let us go in and get her. She was still so out of it but she was fussing a bit and she kept falling back under.

By 2:00 she was pretty much back to normal. She kept wanting to walk around and I had to be right there because she was really wobbly and kept falling down.

It was pretty scary but she did fine and now her teeth won't rot out of her head or cause her any pain. I'm really glad we had them fixed.

I'm pretty sure she had such bad cavities because she used to nurse all night on and off. The milk just sat in her mouth and ate her teeth.
She doesn't nurse or drink a bottle anymore so I don't think it will get bad again. We will be brushing her teeth every morning and night...even when I have to chase her around the house to do it.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">