Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2005-05-31 - 3:23 p.m.

My Grandmother passed away yesterday. She was an amazing person. She was so strong willed and beautiful.

She did just what she pleased and ate what she wanted and never worried about her weight. I think if she had she would have lived forever. Who lives to eighty when they are overweight their whole life and never exercised a day?

She had six children and I don't even know how many grandchildren and great grandchildren.

I am her first grandchild. I don't know why that always made me feel different and special somehow. She liked to tell the story of how she hates to fly but loved me so much she flew to British Columbia where I was born and brought me all the way home to Utah. She said all her sisters and her brother were there waiting to see the first grandchild and great grandchild and when she unwrapped me I opened my big blue eyes and everyone gasped because I was so beautiful. Now who wouldn't feel special when hearing that story told over and over again?

She was eighty years old and I know it was her time to go home and be with her loved ones that have already gone. Yesterday I was fine because I know she was in pain but today thinking about what she meant to me I can't help but cry because I'll miss her so much. She used to bring me and the kids saltwater taffy but she couldn't get out of the car very easy so if we were not home she would throw it out on the lawn and hope we got it. I'll never eat saltwater taffy without thinking of her.

She has been awfully grouchy these last six months or so. Snapping at the grandchildren about not being married and the ones that were she would bug about how long until they gave her great grandchildren. Maybe she knew she didn't have long.

I spent several hours with her last week and I am so glad that I did. I told her I was having a girl and her tired old eyes lit up and she gave me a smile.

I love her so much and I will miss her. I just have to remind myself that now she is with my Grandfather. She has left her poor broken body behind and will never feel any pain again.

Grandma please watch over us and I will always keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">