Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2004-07-16 - 4:29 p.m.

If someone commits a horrible crime, how much times needs to pass before that person thinks they got away with it? Does it depend on the person? One year, two, ten? When do they stop feeling guilty, if they ever did?

28 years ago a man beat, raped and strangled a young woman and left her in a trailer behind an abandoned motel in downtown Salt Lake City. He was arrested today for that crime.

I bet he thought he got away with murder. Salt Lake has a new "cold case" team and they were able to use technology that was not available in 1976. I hope he wet himself when they showed up at his door and took a swab of his mouth to match it to evidence taken so long ago.

28 years is a long time to wait for justice to be done and I am so happy for the family to finally get some closure and see him pay for what he did. I hope the last 28 years were filled with guilt, remorse and fear. I have a feeling though that he just went on with life as if it never happened.

I really don't understand how anyone could live with themselves after something like that. I feel guilt for telling a telemarketer that I'm "just walking out the door" when I'm really not. Seriously did these people not have parents? I have to admit I apply guilt to my own children to get them to do the right thing. It's a vicious cycle. Who am I to break it?

Lesson for today....don't kill people and think you are going to get away with it because eventually you will pay, in this life or the next.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">