Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2003-12-26 - 10:20 a.m.

Everyone has "peeked" at some point in their childhood, don't you think?

I couldn't help myself. My parents always "hid" the presents in a gun closet in their room. I knew where the key was. They knew I knew where the key was. I would check the closet every few days or so to see if anything new would have surfaced in the hidden secret closet. *snort* I never thought I might be ruining my christmas or even my parents Christmas by not being surprised. Now I know.

We bought the kids a play station 2 for Christmas. We hid, and I use the term hid loosely just as my parents hid all christmas gifts in a locked closet, in a locked storage room. They know that's where we put the presents but unlike my parents we hid the only key to that room. Unfortunately my kids searched our room (scary thought) until they found it. They then told us they opened the door and looked BUT they claim that they didn't look in the bags. Ya, I'm not as stupid as they apparently think I am because I too was once their age and I looked. I know they did. Lucky us they are still young enough that they told us and we hid they key, again, but better this time. OK, sorry back to the play station 2. I had not bought it by this time I had gotten it a few days before Christmas and I hid it in the garage. I didn't think they would snoop there since they thought all the gifts were in the locked room. I was wrong. Jackson found it and on Christmas eve he said "hum, I hope I get a play station 2 for Christmas" I knew right then he found it. He denied it at first but under Scott's nazi torture devices he caved and told the truth. We were so upset. Only because we were so excited to see their faces when we got it. We told him he couldn't have it now and we were taking it back. You can well imagine the weeping, wailing and gnashing of teeth that started. Ashley demanded to know why Jackson was so upset so I told her we got a great surprise but Jackson snooped and found it we were taking it back. Now we had two children sobbing. Ashley was so upset that she proclaimed,

"JACKSON IS THE GRINCH THAT RUINED CHRISTMAS!!!"

Poor Jackson cried, "Ashley, that wasn't nice! I already feel bad enough!!, sob"

Needless to say we ended up giving them their PS 2. Ashley and Noelle were still surprised and Jackson, well he was just plain relieved.

Today I'm going to apologize to my parents for ruining their Christmas surprise all those years.

That's the end of my story, Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">