Photobucket

navigation

profile
archives
current
host

last five

Is this derby death? - 2011-08-29
college savings plan? - 2011-03-23
I'm a slacker. - 2011-03-15
Let me explain... - 2010-07-19
- - 2010-03-09

contact

notes
email

2003-07-01 - 3:24 p.m.

What would you sell your soul for?

Does it even have a price?

Reading Dr. Faustus got me thinking about the things people do that can jeopardize their eternal soul. I suppose if you don't believe in an after life then this life would be lead by nothing more and acting on your basic impulses.

Of course Dr. Faustus believed in the Devil and also believed in God. He sold his soul to the Devil in exchange to be able to perform magic and the power to control demons and have them do his bidding. The time he negotiated was amusingly short and toward the end he absolutely regretted his actions but by then it was too late and he was taken away at the end in a terrible death by Mephistophilis who was Satan's demon that he loaned to the Dr. I keep repeating this comment by Mephistiphilis when the Dr. asked him why he left the presence of God. He said....

Why, then this is hell nor am I out of it. Thinkest thou that I having seen the face of God and tasted the eternal joys of heaven am not tormented by ten thousand hells in being deprived of everlasting bliss?

Poor little demon, you almost feel sorry for him. I wonder how many have sold their souls without even realizing it. Dr. Faustus signed his away with his own blood. I don't think you have to actually make a pact to lose your soul. I'm sure there have been some who have. Is is possible to win it back once you loose is or is the loss so severe that you wouldn't care if you got it back or not? Something to think about.

|

previous - next


data="http://wotd.transparent.com/rss/widget_irish_l2.swf" height="235" width="300" align="">